Award Categories

New Business of the Year (Less than 2 years old)
Acknowledging a business (regardless of size) that has achieved outstanding business performance, quality personalised service to customers and clients and business distinctiveness.

Micro Business of the Year (1-4 employees)
Honours a business that has achieved outstanding business performance, quality personalised service to customers and clients and business distinctiveness.

Small Business of the Year (5-20 employees)
This award recognises the crucial role small business plays in the economy and as an employment generator. It honours a business that has demonstrated continual business excellence through positive business growth, exemplified superior customer service and embraced an outstanding commitment to quality.

Medium/Large Business of the Year (more than 20 employees)
This award is to acknowledge a business in the corporate sector for their economic contribution to the community.

Community Spirit Award
An award that recognises a business or organisation that has made a considerable contribution to community for the benefit of others.

Outstanding Customer Service
This award specifically recognises a business of any size demonstrating exceptional customer service. Nominations may come from happy customers who feel they have received exceptional service, good client follow up and courtesy from a business.

Staff Training and Development
To recognise a business that has been proactive in creating training and skill enhancement opportunities for employees; provided a positive role model for others through the provision of training for employees and demonstrated an outstanding commitment to employee quality.

Environmental Business of the Year
To acknowledge a business that has shown a strong commitment to reducing their environmental impact and promoting environmentally sustainable behaviour in the community and amongst stakeholders.

Kalamunda Farmers Market - Best Stallholder
This award recognises the most popular stallholder at the Kalamunda Farmers Market (Sunday Market) as voted for by the customers.

Employee of the Year
Businesses can nominate exemplary employees. This could be shown through their organisational skills, courtesy and conduct with stakeholders, contribution to the company, leadership, problem solving skills etc. An endorsement letter must be provided that details the reasons why this employee has excelled.

President's Award
The President's Award is presented by the current President, Caroline Babbage. No nominations are required for this Award as the winner is chosen from the business community, whether nominated in another category or not. This award is open to businesses who are current members of the Kalamunda Chamber of Commerce as well as those who are non- members.


Entry is open to all businesses that have been operating within the City of Kalamunda boundaries for at least 12 months.
Not-For-Profit organisations are eligible to enter. These organisations will be judged according to innovative achievements and funds generated.
You may be a sole trader, recognised business partnership, legally constitute business, company, business person, incorporated body or a department or division of any business enterprise.


The first step in entering the Awards is to nominate your business in a category or categories that best reflects your core business.  Nominations need to be completed electronically by emailing to indicate the categories you will be providing a submission for.  Nominations for the 2017 Business Excellence Awards close at 5pm on 21 August 2017. 


Contact Information

Kalamunda Chamber of Commerce,
50 Railway Road Kalamunda
Mon-Fri 9am-2:30pm:
(08) 9257 3508
After hours:
+61 (0) 487 431 361


Signup to receive The Chamber Newsletter

Connect with Us